Ex-Fire Chief, NSW Australian of the Year

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Former NSW Fire Commissioner, Shane Fitzsimmons, has been awarded NSW Australian of the Year after one of the state’s worst bushfire seasons in history. 

Mr. Fitzsimmons led a state-wide response to the 2019/20 bushfires that devastated New South Wales before the COVID-19 pandemic. He joined the NSW RFS in 1994 before becoming commissioner in 2007, a title which he held for 12 years. 

Read the full article here.

Close Menu